Weeks #20 and #21 – Tips and advice on how to remain sober during the Christmas season?

santa-panicHello amigos,

I hope you are not expecting tips and advice on how to remain sober during the Christmas season and that you noticed the question mark in the title of the post.

I am looking for tips and advice! I can’t give you any because it is going to be my first sober Christmas. And of course staying sober for Christmas is a fucking option.

So, how to survive:

  • The many drinks at the pubs with different group of friends?
  • The stalls selling mulled wine?
  • The office Christmas party with free booze?
  • The Christmas dinner with the in-laws – who I’m not sure what they will think of me not drinking?
  • The New Year Eve party with the champagne?
  • The social pressure of everybody expecting everybody to drink a lot during this period?

So…how to stay strong during this period? Period which should be about gratitude, being nice and having a good time with your loved ones – but that’s another story for another day.

I know that a couple of my “frequent” readers have been sober for many years so I look forward to reading your suggestions and benefiting from your experience!

Cheerio.

Twenty weeks done. Thirty-two more to go.

Twenty-one weeks done. Thirty-one more to go.

2 thoughts on “Weeks #20 and #21 – Tips and advice on how to remain sober during the Christmas season?

  1. Just a few things that helped me in early sobriety..,
    1. Bring your own NA drinks
    2. Leave early
    3. Have phone number of sober buddy to call if you need to
    4. Focus on food and conversations
    5. Skip events…they will be there again next year
    6. If anyone asks you why you are not drinking, have a response that is comfortable for you to answer all ready before you go.

    This season was hard for me at first, and New Years was the hardest.
    But you can do it, and the next day you will be SO happy!

    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment